Loading Events

« All Events

Join the Friends of the ATC’s Third Annual Ben Linder Solidarity School!

August 27 @ 9:00 am - October 29 @ 10:30 am

Apply Here Today!

Saturdays, August 27th – October 29th

Español abajo 

Friends of the ATC Presents: 

The 3rd Annual Ben Linder Solidarity School!

APPLY HERE TODAY!

Join us for the third annual Ben Linder Solidarity School, a ten-week virtual course, to study and strengthen solidarity with Nicaragua and its popular organizations such as the Asociación de Trabajadores del Campo (Rural Workers’ Association) and international movements like La Vía Campesina.

The course will take place virtually on Saturdays August 27th – October 29th at 9am PDT / 10am Nicaragua / 12pm EDT / 5pm UK. Each class is a two-hour session. We will be accepting applications on a rolling basis (and distributing additional course info) until August 19th. Apply here!

This course is for anyone interested in strengthening internationalism and accompanying social movements. Ben Linder was a young North American who, inspired by the Sandinista Revolution, traveled to Nicaragua in the 1980s to support rural electrification projects. He was killed in San Jose de Bocay by the US-funded Contras in April 1987 alongside two young Nicaraguans. Through this course, we remember his and many others’ spirit of internationalism and how they took inspiration from the ideals of the Revolution.

This course makes material from La Via Campesina’s Central American Leadership course available in English. Other courses will be taught from highly experienced and respected internationalists, agroecologists, and organizers.

Class topics include:
– Nicaragua and the Sandinista Revolution
– History and current context of Latin America and US imperialism
– ATC and La Via Campesina peasant organizing / movements
– Food sovereignty and agroecology
– Solidarity and Internationalism

 

Growing Food, Building Revolution
ATC supports Tomabu community in building agroecology and food sovereignty

ATC supports Tomabu community in building agroecology and food sovereignty

Editors’ Note: In collaboration with the ATC, Friends of the…

Growing Food, Building Revolution

Report from the July 2022 Food Sovereignty, Agroecology & Victorious…

Details

Start:
August 27 @ 9:00 am
End:
October 29 @ 10:30 am